Foood Post

My journal of foood musings and eating memoirs

4 P.M. Cravings

 

4 P.M. and the cravings begin. It feels like I can’t go on. I need a boost, a shot of it. You might know what I’m talking about. The craving for chai! I think it’s a family thing. 4 P.M. and you will find my mom serving chai at home. It’s this that put a 4 p.m. craving in me.It shows up every day, no matter where I am.

Chai is a part of my every evening. Lately chai time has been a tad sweeter. We’ve had quite a few rainy afternoons in Bangalore. I love rainy afternoons. You stay indoors and watch the rain. The smell of rain kissed mud after the drizzle has ceased. It’s lovely. It gets even better though, if I’m at home during such afternoons with Mom’s masala chai (it’s a spiced tea) in hand. The aroma that fills the house is beckoning. She hands me my cup of chai and I curl up on the couch taking the first sip. Relief! I think it is the relief from the craving. For the rest, you just sit and enjoy your chai. Flawless.

So, I’m going to share with you mom’s version of masala chai. Wholesome loveliness really.

Mom’s spiced Tea or quite simply, Masala chai

DSC01668

Ingredients ( for two cups of tea )

A small piece of ginger

A small piece of cinnamon

Two cloves

Two seeds of cardamon (not two pods)

Water

Milk

Tea leaves and

sugar

First : Pound the ginger and spices to release the flavor.

Second: Heat 3/4 of milk and 1/4 water ( In terms of ratio or parts ).

Third : Add the spices and bring to a boil.

Fourth : Add tea leaves, continue to heat for a minute and turn of the heat.

Fifth : Let the spiced broth sit.

Sixth : Strain. Add sugar to taste.

Drink it hot!

I'd love to hear from you!

Information

This entry was posted on August 13, 2013 by in Foood - Recipes and tagged , , .
